Advanced Photonics
Xiao-Cong (Larry) Yuan, Anatoly Zayats

About Advanced Photonics

  • Aims and Scope

    Advanced Photonics (AP) is co-published by Chinese Laser Press (CLP) at the Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics (SIOM) and The International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE). AP is a highly selective, open-access, international journal that publishes innovative research in all areas of optics and photonics, including fundamental and applied research. The journal publishes top-quality original papers, letters, and review articles, reflecting significant advances and breakthroughs in theoretical and experimental research and novel applications with considerable potential.


    The journal seeks high-quality, high-impact articles across the entire spectrum of optics, photonics, and related fields with specific emphasis on the following acceptance criteria:


    • New concepts in terms of fundamental research with great impact and significance

    • State-of-the-art technologies in terms of novel methods for important applications

    • Reviews of recent major advances and discoveries and state-of-the-art benchmarking.


    The journal also publishes news and commentaries highlighting scientific and technological discoveries, breakthroughs, and achievements in optics, photonics, and related fields.


    Research areas covered include, but are not limited to:


    • Photonic devices and systems for communications

    • Photonics for clean energy

    • Photonics in chemistry, biology, and medicine

    • Optical imaging, metrology, and sensors

    • Photonics for data storage, data manipulation, and displays

    • Materials, artificial materials, and nanostructures for photonics

    • Photonics in quantum technologies

    • Nonlinear and ultrafast optics

    • Optoelectronics and optical information processing

    • Optical manipulation techniques, optomechanics, and optofluidics


Key Journal Metrics


Editorial Board

  • Co-Editors-in-Chief

    Xiao-Cong (Larry) Yuan, Shenzhen University & Zhejiang Lab, China

    Anatoly Zayats, King's College London, UK


  • Editorial Board

    Mario Agio, University of Siegen, Germany

    Jennifer Dionne, Stanford University, USA

    Ned Ekins-Daukes, University of New South Wales, Australia

    Yeshaiahu (Shaya) Fainman, University of California, San Diego, USA

    Harald Giessen, Univerisity of Stuttgart, Germany

    Tawfique Hasan, University of Cambridge, UK

    Alexander Kildishev, Purdue University, USA

    Chao-Yang Lu, University of Science and Technology of China, China

    Olivier Martin, EPFL, Switzerland

    Ting Mei, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China

    Prineha Narang, Harvard University, USA

    Síle Nic Chormaic, OIST Graduate University, Japan, and Univ. of Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

    Min Qiu, Westlake University, China

    Michael G. Somekh, Zhejiang Lab, China & University Of Nottingham, UK

    Paul Urbach, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

    Konstantin L. Vodopyanov, University of Central Florida, USA

    Jianpu Wang, Nanjing Tech University, China

    Peng Xi, Peking University, China

    Vladislav Yakovlev, Texas A&M University, USA

    Changhuei Yang, California Institute of Technology, USA

    Siyuan Yu, Bristol University, UK

    Shuang Zhang, The University of Hong Kong, China

    Jia Zhu, Nanjing University, China


  • Early Career Editorial Board

Sergejs Boroviks, EPFL, Switzerland

Zaijun Chen, University of Southern California, US

Renren Deng, Zhejiang University, China

Fu Feng, Zhejiang Lab, China

Lucia Gardini, University of Florence, Italy

Fengrui Hu, Nanjing University, China

César Jáuregui-Misas, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany

Xuefeng Jiang, The University of Adelaide, Australia

Jiawen Li, Seton Hall University, USA

Andrea Ottomaniello, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy

Pratheepa Kumari Rasiah, Vanderbilt University, US

Zhensheng Tao, Fudan University, China

Ye Tian, SIOM, China

Yi Yang, The University of Hong Kong, China

Yuanmu Yang, Tsinghua University, China

Mengjie Yu, University of Southern California, US

Ying Yu, Sun Yat-sen University, China

Luqi Yuan, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

Qiuqiang Zhan, South China Normal University, China


Contact Information

  • Manuscripts Peer Review Process Inquiry:


  • Tel: 0086-21-69918198